DidierProfessor de Chaffoy de Courcelles’ expertise in leadership and strategy has been built over a 25 year career in the Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology sector with a very successful progressive career at Janssen Pharmaceutica and Johnson and Johnson (J&J).

He has a broad knowledge in R&D and in strategic innovation with extensive experience managing and directing R&D groups from a Board level position for over 10 years.

Didier holds a bachelor in Chemistry from the Catholic University of Leuven and a master and Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of Antwerp.

He started his career as a researcher under the leadership of Dr. Paul Janssen and published as key author over 60 publications in peer reviewed journals.

Didier has been the Senior Vice President Research and Early Development in Europe for J&J Pharmaceutical R&D. He was site head for R&D at the former Janssen Pharmaceutica site in Belgium and in charge of research teams in the US, Germany, France and Spain. Didier headed different major restructuring and organizational changes. He designed and implemented novel strategies to improve the success rate in R&D including the integration of non-clinical, clinical, regulatory and health economics expertise early on in the R&D process.

Didier holds the Chair of Pharmacology at the Faculty of Medicine at the Hasselt University and runs a consultancy office in support of research institutes and SME’s in the Pharma and Biotechnology sector.

david_hawksworthProfessor David L Hawksworth CBE is a specialist in the characterization, identification and naming of fungi, especially microscopic ascomycetes (including lichens), using microscopic and molecular approaches, now with 45 years experience. He has described many genera and species new to science from a wide range of habitats, has collected in many different countries, and is particularly well-known for his studies on fungal biodiversity and pollution monitoring, and latterly in forensic mycology.

David was the last Director of the former International Mycological Institute (incorporating the UK National Collection of Fungus Cultures), and is an Honorary President of the International Mycological Association.

He has received many honours and awards. He currently has professorships in the Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Birkbeck University of London, and the University of Gloucestershire, and is a research associate at both the The Natural History Museum (London) and the Royal Botanic Gardens (Kew).

John_HedgerProfessor Hedger has over 40 years experience in Mycology, starting with a PhD in Fungal Ecology at Cambridge University, followed by a lectureship at Aberystwyth University from 1970 to 1995 and then was Quintin Hogg Research Fellow in Fungal Biotechnology and Professor at the University of Westminster until retirement in 2010, since when he has been Emeritus Professor.

He acted as a consultant on Tropical Mycology and Fermentation Development to the Natural Products Discovery Company Xenova in the 1980s, including building a culture collections from tropical rainforest, and has experience of working in S.America, Indonesia and Papua New Guinea.

He has been a consultant Mycologist with the Hypha Discovery team since the inception of the company.



Professor Hylands started his career with academic appointments in the University of Strasbourg, as a Royal Society European Fellow, and then in the University of London. His special research interest has always been natural products in medicine. He joined the commercial world in 1988 as Director of Chemistry and then Research Director of biopharmaceutical companies in the UK and the USA. He has consulted for the United Nations and Commonwealth Science Council. He has worked or collaborated with institutions on every continent regarding natural medicines and natural product research and development. He serves on a number of boards, advisory boards and government committees and is currently Head of the Institute of Pharmaceutical Science, King’s College London.
Dr-Malcolm-MacCossDr. Malcolm MacCoss is the Founder and Member of Bohicket Pharma Consulting LLC.

He obtained his Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the University of Birmingham in the U.K. in 1971, and then carried out a post-doctoral fellowship and a research associateship at the University of Alberta in Canada from 1972-1976. In 1976, he took up an appointment at Argonne National Laboratory in Illinois in the Division of Biology and Medicine. While at Argonne, he won the University of Chicago Medal for Distinguished Performance at Argonne National Laboratory (awarded to scientists under 40) for his work on novel phospholipid-nucleoside conjugates as prodrugs for anticancer agents.

During this time he also held an Adjunct Associate Professorship in Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Illinois Medical Center, Chicago. Dr. MacCoss began his pharma career at Merck as a Research Fellow in 1982, becoming Vice President, Basic Chemistry-Rahway in 1999. In 2003, he became the Vice President of Basic Chemistry and Drug Discovery Sciences, and the Deputy Site-Head of the Rahway Site; he was also Chairman of the Merck World-Wide Chemistry Council.During his time as Head of the Merck Rahway Chemistry Department, the Department produced approximately 100 preclinical drug candidates. In 2008 Dr. MacCoss joined the Schering-Plough Research Institute as Group Vice President for Chemical Research and in addition, he initiated and chaired the Schering-Plough Global Chemistry Council.

Dr. MacCoss left big pharma in 2010 and founded Bohicket Pharma Consulting LLC where he now serves as a consultant in drug discovery for the pharmaceutical industry. He serves on the Board of Directors of Idera Pharmaceuticals (and is Chairman of their Compensation Committee) and on the SAB of ShangPharma Corporation; he consults regularly for UCB SA (Consultant Senior Fellow), ShangPharma (ChemPartner), and Gilead Sciences, Inc., where he now also serves on their SAB. In the academic arena, he was recently appointed Visiting Professor of Chemistry for Medicine at the University of Oxford and he also serves on the Advisory Council for the Executive Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences at Rutgers University, NJ.

Dr. MacCoss led a medicinal chemistry group that synthesized the first oral Substance P antagonist, Emend™ (aprepitant), an anti-emetic product approved by the FDA in 2003 for the treatment of chemotherapy induced nausea and vomiting (CINV), for which he was awarded the Thomas Edison Award in 2004, along with the other inventors. In addition, his group prepared the novel IV prodrug of Emend (Ivemend™, fosaprepitant), which was approved by the FDA in January 2008. In 2007, Dr. MacCoss was awarded a second Thomas Edison Award, for his contributions to the inventorship of Januvia™ (sitagliptin phosphate), the first approved DPP-IV inhibitor for the treatment of type 2 diabetes. Januvia™ was approved in 2006 and a fixed dose combination of Januvia™ and metformin (Janumet™) was approved in 2007. In March 2008, Dr. MacCoss was awarded the NJ American Chemical Society Award for Creativity in Molecular Design and Synthesis; he was admitted as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) in 2008, and was inducted into the American Chemical Society Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame in 2009. In 2010, Dr. MacCoss was the recipient of the American Chemical Society Division of Medicinal Chemistry Award.

Dr MacCoss has authored or co-authored 162 publications in refereed journals, he is an inventor on 99 issued U.S. patents, has authored 10 book chapters and has been an invited speaker 52 times at major symposia or at universities and industrial venues.

Back to Top